The Flower Garden (Hardcover)

The Flower Garden By Renée Kurilla Cover Image
$12.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


A magical graphic novel adventure perfect for fans of Peter & Ernesto or Tiger vs. Nightmare

After planting a seed packet in the backyard, things don’t go as expected for best friends Anna and Tess. They fall asleep in the sun and wake up to blooms as tall as buildings! Did the seeds really grow that fast?

All is explained when Anna and Tess meet May, a little garden gnome whose magic is responsible for the transformation. The girls are May’s size now, and they follow her through the flower garden and into May’s underground gnome home—discovering new things about their world and themselves along the way.

This immersive graphic novel from author-illustrator Renée Kurilla is perfect for emerging readers. It explores growing and changing friendships and offers details to discover on every page and with every read.

About the Author


Renée Kurilla has illustrated several books for children including Chicks Rule! and Chicks Rock! by Sudipta Bardhan-Quallen, Right This Very Minute by Lisl H. Detlefsen, My Pet Slime series by Courtney Sheinmel, and the Ada Lace series by Emily Calandrelli. She both wrote and illustrated One Springy, Singy Day and The Flower Garden. Kurilla lives in the woods just south of Boston with her illustrator husband, Keith Zoo, and their daughter, Zoey. One Upside-Downy Day was inspired by growy, throwy, showy Zoey and is a love letter to every kiddo who shows grit and resilience while making it through to the other side of a tough day. Kurilla can otherwise be found with her nose in a book, drawing, or attempting an ill-fated headstand. Learn more about her at kurillastration.com.

Praise For…


**STARRED REVIEW** 
"The girls’ friendship is refreshingly real, with the reluctant friend more than willing to stand up for herself when she feels she’s not being heard. . .With a short page count and easy-to-read speech balloons, this is at a perfect level for chapter-book readers, and more-experienced readers will be charmed by the playful, cartoonish art in bright, saturated colors. Absolutely delightful." 
— Booklist

"A cheery, colorful jaunt through a garden gnome’s world, arranged lovingly and thoughtfully in graphic novel form. . .promises to be an enjoyable read for both eager and hesitant beginning ­readers." 
 
— School Library Journal

“Vibrant illustrations accompany this friendship story.”
— The Horn Book Magazine
Product Details
ISBN: 9781419750205
ISBN-10: 1419750208
Publisher: Amulet Books
Publication Date: March 15th, 2022
Pages: 80
Language: English